reminders of home

won’t you remind me, please
of that burning glow of comfort
to one side of my face?

or how, when i open my eyes, and look
to the sky, the flickering tails of the flames
court the stars to shoot?

yes,
my southern blanket sky’s revive is well
overdue

turned ear to the bubbling brook
melding cicada hum and cracking
eucalypt, she’s brought me home

yes, i’m home in her

lover’s poured billy tea
i called six hearts, and play my Jack
and sip, chardonnay in plastic flutes

won’t you remind me, please
of that burning glow of comfort
of embers, and jaffle irons?

One thought on “reminders of home

  1. Noah –
    this is such a movingly descriptive verse on a land that I begin to know well, and that you seem to ache for.
    It is beautiful…

Leave a Reply

