mercy amiss

claws dragging wakes your night
black’s weight hangs from your eyes
hear your death, calling, mocking
heart, choked beat punches your throat

fight me
dread me

wet eyes, like sores, weep
anger’s heat boils on edge
don’t take another step, don’t make another
sound, don’t make another mistake

fear me
abhor me

loathing drips from your pores
consuming all and drenching
aching bones and sinew stretched
in vain, to spite your hope

resent me
hate me

stale stank breath pervading
rough, oh so rough skin
strong, oh so strong hands
cold, oh so cold touch

Now I lay me down to sleep,

hush…

I pray the Lord my soul to keep;

hush…

Should I die before I wake,

hush little darling, don’t say a word

I pray the Lord my soul to take.

Poppa’s gonna buy you a mocking bird

Now I lay me down to sleep,

and if that mocking bird don’t sing

I pray the Lord my soul to keep;

Poppa’s gonna buy you a diamond ring

Should I die before I wake,

oh little darling, if you were mine ….

I pray the Lord my soul to take.

oh little darling, if you were mine ….

Now I lay me down to sleep,

oh little darling ….

I pray the Lord my soul to keep.

…. if you were ….

Should I die before I wake,

… mine!

married in death
bereft of choice
one faceless God
one merciless man

heaving breathless
swelling regret befits
swelling eyes and shaking
familiar raggedy doll

he’s back

One thought on “mercy amiss

Leave a Reply

