Simple, wonder, dusk

Storm clouds over chilling ocean waters
Both awash in murky grey blue
One never ends where the other begins

Face off with the beating gale
From steady cadence to drunken stagger
Breaths are stolen, whipped from my lips

A lonesome soldier, I’m bared to dusk
Every heart beat for my rising charge
For all given out, twice taken back

The red setting sun shapes a new day
Feet in motion are wheels with traction
A smile escapes for a knowing stranger

Come, run with me

One thought on “Simple, wonder, dusk

  1. This brought a smile to my face.
    I don’t know if you intended it, but when I read this, I got the impression that the words were drifting in, and drifting out, of my mind like the water on the shoreline. Very cool poem.

Leave a Reply

