the burgeoning

A vast shadow of light
combs across my ethos
with familiar tone
and effortless purpose

Identity a reclaimed pride
worn broadly across my shoulders
no more usual providence
displacing life’s new excess

My soul’s bourn
a cross to bear
obvious to one
invisible to all else

Abundance of pressure in hope
itching at my skin to free
tempered by known immediate
fed by ardent spring sun

My chest open on canvas
sharing my joust with sundry
bleeding blisters and warts and all
bare laid freedom relieved

Leave a Reply

